The Role of Eggs in Pizza Making: An Exploration

  • By: Mike
  • Date: December 29, 2022
  • Time to read: 5 min.

There are many reasons why people don’t want to consume eggs. For some, it may be because they are vegan. For others, it may be because they are not a huge fan of the calorie density of eggs.

Some people may even have an egg allergy. Therefore, it isn’t uncommon for people to wonder whether pizza contains eggs. Let’s answer that for you, because the answer may actually surprise you.

Is Pizza Made With Eggs?

Most pizzas won’t contain eggs. This is assuming that we are talking about the pizza dough here. Pizza dough contains the following and nothing else (again, in most cases):

  • Flour
  • Yeast
  • Water
  • Salt

It is just bread dough. If your average bread doesn’t contain eggs, then your average pizza dough won’t contain eggs either.

Of course, if you are buying a pizza from the store, you should always check the ingredients list. While it is incredibly uncommon for your average pizza to contain eggs, it doesn’t mean that it is impossible.

There are some products that may be produced in a factory that deals with eggs on a regular basis, which means that there could be trace amounts of eggs in the pizza. Although, that is likely only going to be an issue if you are a vegan or are allergic to eggs.

Does Gluten-Free Pizza Dough Contain Eggs?

This is where you may run into some eggs. If you are buying gluten-free pizza dough, then there is a non-zero chance that it will contain eggs. You will have to check the ingredients list for the pizza or, failing that, ask the company that you are buying it from.

As we said, pizza dough is typically made from flour. This will be wheat flour. Wheat flour is very high in protein. This cannot be added to gluten-free dough on account of all of the gluten in it. Instead, gluten-free pizza dough is often made from cornstarch, potato flour, rice flour, and tapioca starch. There is barely any protein in these ingredients.

Because of this, some companies may decide to add some eggs to their pizza dough. It helps to bump up the protein levels of the dough. In some cases, this egg may work its way into some of the additives often put in gluten-free pizza dough to make it taste as close to the real thing as possible.

So, the only time that you really need to worry about your pizza being made from eggs is if you have not explicitly requested egg on top of the pizza (more on that soon), but you want gluten-free pizza dough.

Do Companies Glaze Their Pizza Crust With Eggs?

Again, this is why it is ever so important that you always check the ingredient list if you are purchasing ready-made pizza dough.

As you know, many breads will have a light egg glaze added on near the end of the cooking process. This helps to give the bread that golden shine.

Most pizza dough-producing companies will not do this. They do not add eggs to any stage of the process. There is no need for an egg to be used to glaze the pizza dough because most doughs end up with that golden crispy finish.

Even if you purchased a pizza from a takeaway, it is highly unlikely that they are going to add any sort of egg glaze to the dough. You can always ask, but because adding an egg glaze can change the flavor of the pizza a little, they will avoid it.

Can You Put Eggs On The Top of Pizza?

You can, yes. It isn’t an especially common topping, mostly because people don’t really want eggs draped all over their pizza.

However, if you do want to get a bit more experimental with your pizza, then you absolutely can add an egg on top of it. In fact, this is a particularly common topping if you head on over to Sweden.

They do love their egg-topped pizzas there, among the other things that they seemingly enjoy on their pizzas that other countries wouldn’t even dream of touching!

If you are planning on adding an egg to your pizza topping, you shouldn’t add it right away. Eggs will cook incredibly quickly. Instead, you will want to add a cracked egg about halfway through the cooking process. 

If you want to add an egg, cook the pizza for about 7-8 minutes. Although, this may be a bit quicker. It will depend on the oven that you are using. You are aiming for about halfway through the cooking process.

At this point, remove the pizza from the oven and pour a cracked egg over the top. We advise you not to crack the egg directly on top of the pizza. You really don’t want to get any shell on top of it. 

Once the egg is on top of the pizza, the residual heat should start to cook it right away. This means that you may notice that the egg whites start to cook.

However, you will still want to put that pizza back in the oven. Cook it for the remaining amount of time. You want the egg whites to be cooked and the yolk set.

However, unless you are serving the egg to children or somebody who is pregnant, it shouldn’t matter too much if the egg is slightly undercooked. As long as the rest of the pizza is cooked, you should be fine.

Conclusion

Generally speaking, pizza will not contain eggs. The one exception is if you are purchasing a gluten-free pizza. Many gluten-free options will add eggs to the pizza dough to give it more protein content.

If you are purchasing gluten-free pizza dough, then always check the ingredients. If it contains eggs, there should be a warning somewhere on the label since eggs are a known allergen. 

If you are buying a gluten-free pizza from a takeaway, then you can pretty much assume that eggs will be involved in the process.

Previous Post

Is Pizza a Type of Bread? We Break Down the Facts

Next Post

Pizza for Every Palate: A Guide to all the Types of Pizza

how-long-to-heat-homemade-pizza-at-350